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TIMING FOR EXEMPTIONS; WHICH SCHEME TO USE 

 

RELEVANT STATUTES: 

 

11 U.S.C. §522(b)(1) – allows debtor(s) to take exemptions under (b)(2) or (b)(3); if there is a 

dispute between the joint debtors as to which exemptions shall be taken, directs that exemption 

will be taken under (b)(2), unless state law opts out of the federal exemptions; prohibits mixing 

of exemptions from both (b)(2) and (b)(3) 

 

11 U.S.C. §522(b)(2) – states that debtors may take federal exemptions as defined in §522(d); 

allows for States to opt out of federal exemption scheme 

 

11 U.S.C. §522(b)(3)(A), (B), & (C) – allows for choice of State exemption scheme, plus 

applicable non-bankruptcy federal exemptions; sets acknowledges joint tenancy and tenancy in 

the entirety which is exempt under non-bankruptcy law; exempts retirement accounts even if 

they may not normally be exempt under state law exemption scheme; sets out time periods for 

which exemption scheme the debtor(s) is allowed to choose 

 

 

Wisconsin allows for the choice of either Federal or State exemption scheme.  If a debtor has 

lived in Wisconsin for the two years prior to the filing of the case, you have a choice of either the 

federal exemptions under 11 U.S.C §522(d) or Wisconsin exemptions which are found primarily 

under Chapter 815 of the Wisconsin State Code. 

 

 

 



In order to know what exemption scheme a debtor is eligible to choose, you must look to the 

time prior to filing: 

 

- A debtor must use the exemption scheme from the state where he/she was domiciled for 

the 730 days immediately prior to the filing of the bankruptcy case.  If the debtor wasn’t 

domiciled in one state for the 730 days preceding the filing, then he/she must use the 

exemption scheme for the state in which he/she lived for the 180 days immediately 

preceding that 730 day period.  If the debtor wasn’t domiciled in one state continuously 

for that 180 day period, then he/she must use the exemption scheme of the state of 

domicile for the majority of those 180 days.  11 U.S.C. §522(b)(3)(A).   

- The hanging paragraph after §522(b)(3)(C) states that if the effect of choosing the state 

exemption scheme under §522(b)(3)(A) would mean that the debtor is not eligible for any 

exemptions, then he/she may use the federal exemptions, regardless of whether that state 

has opted out. 

 

IN RE GEORGE, 10-34145-SVK, 440 B.R. 164 

- Debtor filed for bankruptcy in Wisconsin, but had not lived here for the 730 days prior to 

filing.  Debtor had lived in Illinois for the 180 days, and Illinois has opted out of the 

federal exemption scheme. 

- Debtor chose to use federal exemptions, Trustee objected to the exemptions on the 

grounds that the Debtor should have used Illinois state exemptions.  If the Debtor used 

Illinois state exemptions, then one of her vehicles would not have been exempt. 

- Must look at the wording of the state exemption scheme in question.  Illinois’ exemption 

scheme only applied to residents of Illinois. 

- As the Debtor was not a resident of Illinois at the time of filing, she was not eligible to 

use Illinois’ state exemptions.  Looking to the hanging paragraph after §522(b)(3)(C), this 

would have meant that the Debtor would not have been eligible for any exemptions.  

Therefore, she was able to use the federal exemptions in her case. 

- IMPORTANT – Bankruptcy Code does not state that a debtor must use a certain State’s 

exemptions, but rather their exemption laws. 

 



TIMING AND EXEMPTIONS CONCEPTS 

 

- IN WISCONSIN, YOU MAY CHOOSE TO EITHER USE STATE OR FEDERAL 

EXEMPTIONS; YOU SHOULD EXAMINE WHAT SORTS OF ASSETS THE 

DEBTOR HAS, AND WHICH EXEMPTIONS WILL DO MORE TO PROTECT 

THOSE ASSETS 

 

- IF THE DEBTOR LIVED IN THE STATE WHERE THE BANKRUPTCY IS FILED 

FOR 730 DAYS PRIOR TO FILING, USE THAT STATES EXEMPTION SCHEME 

 

- IF THE DEBTOR DID NOT LIVE IN THE STATE OF FILING FOR THE 730 DAYS 

IMMEDIATELY PRIOR TO FILING, USE THE EXEMPTION SCHEME FROM THE 

STATE WHERE THE DEBTOR RESIDED FOR AT LEAST THE MAJORITY OF 

THE 180 DAYS PRIOR TO THOSE 730 DAYS PRIOR TO FILING 

 

- IT IS A STATE’S EXEMPTION LAWS THAT MATTER, NOT THE EXEMPTIONS 

THEMSELVES; IF THE EFFECT OF HAVING TO USE A STATES EXEMPTION 

LAWS WOULD RENDER THE DEBTOR INELIGIBLE FOR EXEMPTIONS, 

HE/SHE MAY USE THE FEDERAL EXEMPTIONS 


